MEC speaks on use of IDs for voting

National registration staff taking down citizenship details


Following a meeting the Malawi Electoral Commission held over the weekend on the use of National Identity Document (ID’s) in registering voters; MEC has resolved to place National Registration Bureau (NRB) teams in all voter registration centres across the country.

The decision was arrived at when the Commission met its stakeholders in Lilongwe on June 1 and 2 to discuss their concerns regarding identification of voters during registration in readiness for the 2019 Tripartite Elections.

During meetings aimed at demonstrating Biometric Voter Registration, electoral players raised concerns regarding the placement of National Registration Bureau (NRB) staff in strategic centres.

A voter casting her vote during last year's elections
A woman casts her vote during the last elections 


A statement which quoted the Commission’s Chief Elections Officer Sam Alufandika said considering the concerns expressed by stakeholders, it has approached government and development partners for additional funding to meet this new proposal.

He assured that the NRB teams will register all eligible voter registrants who have not registered with the Bureau before.

With this new arrangement, the phases for voter registration have been revised to 8 phases from the initial 6, to run from June 26 to November 9, 2018.

Phase 1: 26 June - 9 July 2018

Kasungu, Kasungu Municipality, Salima and Dedza councils.

Phase 2: 13 - 26 July 2018

Nkhotakota, Ntchisi, Dowa and Mchinji district councils

Phase 3: 30 July - 12 August 2018

Lilongwe District and Lilongwe City councils

Phase 4: 16 - 29 August 2018

Ntcheu, Blantyre, Blantyre City, Mwanza and Chikwawa district councils.

Phase 5: 2 - 15 September 2018

Luchenza Municipal, Balaka, Neno, Thyolo, Phalombe and Mulanje district councils.

Expected to run from 19th September to 2nd October; Phase 6 will cater for Mangochi, Mangochi Town, Zomba District, Zomba City and Nsanje Councils.

Chitipa, Karonga, Rumphi, Machinga and Chiradzulu district councils will participate in phase 7 to run from 8th October to 21st October 2018.

The final Phase 8 to run from 27th October to 9th November 2018 will involve  NKhata Bay, Likoma, Mzuzu City and Mzimba councils. 

In line with Section 77 of the Republican Constitution, the electoral body will register all those above 18 or will attain voting age by November 9, 2018, which is the last day for voter registration.